“When Life Gets Messy…”

Within all of us is a desire to know God.  We were hard wired that way from the beginning.

Some of us accept God’s invitation to know him through his son, Jesus Christ.  Others do not.  Wherever you stand on this issue, most of us would agree there are plenty of times when our lives get messy.  Depending on the severity of your circumstances, the analogy of this blog theme Is Your Life An Adventure might make your life sound like more of a misadventure at times.  Which brings us to this question, what do you do when things go wrong and life gets hard?  Our instincts are to turn to someone for support, a family member or a trusted friend perhaps; even if it’s just to vent and get some moral support.  We just want to feel like we’re not out there alone.  I can only speak for myself and say that in most instances, I try to remember to turn to God.

My oldest friend and “southern sister” (which, in the south, means we quit referring to our friends as friends and just claim them as family members) said to me in a conversation, “Gee, you’re really great at trying to do God’s job for him.”  Guilty, I thought.  Sad, but true.

Most days I try to follow him in my life’s adventures along the trail.  Sometimes, though, I weary of his meandering pace, his tendency to stop and read every historical marker…in other words, I get impatient.  That’s when I race around him shouting “I’ve got this Lord – see you later”.  He allows me to race past until I’m within feet of going over a cliff, and then suddenly he’s beside me saying “what are you doing”?

There are several scriptures that encourage us to “wait upon the Lord”.  Waiting not only requires patience, it also means we are to wait expectantly, believing he will see us through whatever challenge we’re facing.  God never promised he would instantly deliver us from all our problems, but he did promise he would always be with us – with us, right there in the big middle of our disaster, in the middle of our loneliness when there’s no one to talk to, in the middle of the night when we have  no clue what to do next.  As I said in the opening paragraph, we all have a desire somewhere inside us to want to know God – he placed it there.  Why?  Because he loves you and wants to have a relationship with you.  John 3:16 says “For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten son that whosoever believeth on him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

If your life has become more adventure than you can stand right now, maybe you should consider inviting him along on the journey.  He’ll bring the snacks.

See you down the path….

Cathy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on ““When Life Gets Messy…”

Leave a Reply

